A week of food and friendship ðŸ’•

Man alive, do weeks off go in fast or what?? Can’t believe I am back to work tomorrow! Been looking forward to my week off forever and now its been and gone in the blink of an eye! But they say time flies when you’re having fun… I ticked quite a few to-dos off my 101 list this week, even if most of them were food related! Nearly everything in my life is food related though so why should this be any different? 😉

 

My first port of call was to The Sweet Beat Cafe in Sligo, while we waited for our train to Dublin. I have heard SO many good things about this place and thankfully I wasn’t disappointed. Had probably the BEST coffee ever, which is my new obsession… Hazelnut mylk flat white… Just fab… And breakfast was unreal! Toasted baguette with peanut butter, chia seed jam, banana and maple syrup. I love love food like this and love that there are more and more healthy option places to choose from! The coffee was so good I sneaked back on my way home from Dublin for another one…

 

Once we made it to Dublin I had picked two amazing restaurants to have dinner in; Marco Pierre Whites Steakhouse and The Rustic Stone… Had the nicest steak like EVER in Marcos and a gourmet cheeseburger in the Rustic Stone… And a chocolate dessert in both places of course 😉

cap1

I think out of all the places I visited though The Happy Pear was my favourite. Its been on my bucket list for SO long. I am a huge fan of the lads and their attitude towards food. They make so many healthy and simple meal ideas, most of which are vegan or veggie friendly. I’m not a veggie myself but I love the idea of experimenting with different foods. There are so many ways we can cook now and we have an endless amount of recipes out there to help us! For my breakfast I got the porridge topped with granola and fruit compote… The porridge is actually free, you just pay for the toppings! Which is such a kind idea I think. Also treated myself to two flat whites while I was there and I think they were the prettiest coffees ive ever had… And SO delish! Had a catch up with my friend Laoise down there and met up with another fab lady Helen. Its so nice to meet up with people who are of a similar mindset!

 

I tried not to go TOO overboard this week and in fairness I didn’t eat mindlessly at any point this week. I have such a bad habit when Im away of just eating constantly, but I didnt do that this time! Don’t get me wrong my diet wasn’t perfect. But if you cant have a few treats when you are away when can you??

On a side note i did NOT drink that entire milkshake by myself! Jason had most of it, I just had a few sips… It tasted UNREAL but if I ate something like that I would be as sick as a dog lol… The scone was all mine though, and pretty much all of the Reeses donut was eaten by me 😉

I met some incredible people this week too. Catch ups with old friends and meeting up with people I only know from online. Lisa Mulligan who I met through Pat Divillys seminars came to meet me and we sat chatting for hours. Its so so nice to have a connection with people and to have effortless conversation! I also met the lovely Jade who some of you may know from Instagram as @glittersandglutes. The most gorgeous girl who is even nicer in real life!

But I have to have a wee special mention for Laura. Ever since I knew I was coming to Dublin I had to meet this girl. She is legit like my Instagram bestie… The only girl I know who loves bananas more than me 😉 Felt like I knew her forever as soon as we met and the time just flew in. I havent met many people from Instagram so far but every single person I’ve met has been just fabulous! Laura hooked me up with a wee Nike voucher and I brought her some sugar free Nutella… Thats legit friendship right there 😉 Hoping I can come back to Dublin again soon to meet up with this beauty again. If you are on instagram and not following Laura what are you doing with your life? You can find her on http://www.instagram.com/missionsummergirl

 

Indulged in a few more little treats when I got back home but still kept it fairly reasonable… Carrying a few extra pounds now because of all the eating but most of it is water weight and seeing as i started back with the good eats today it won’t be long until I get back to my old self! Took a few days off workouts when I was away but since I got back I trained legs, ran 5 miles and got a good stretch session in this morning! Foam rolling is so sore but it really does help if you can bear to do it and you feel great after.

Afterwards I came home and did some meal prep so i will be prepared for the week ahead. Determined to smash nutrition this week and planning ahead helps SO much! Do you have any goals this week? Hope you enjoy whatever you have planned 🙂 xx

Leave a comment